No #IPv6 from Cox Communications (@CoxComm)

I spent entirely too much time the other day, trying to get IPv6 information from Cox Communications. It was not a good experience.

I spent about 10 minutes trying to find anything useful about IPv6 on their web sites.  I found a FAQ, which has some IPv6 technical information, but nothing about roll outs, trials, schedules or plans, other than “residential trials in 2013”.  At least that’s more than some other ISPs have been able to tell me.

So I decided to try Cox online chat “support”. This was so full of fail that I was compelled to share the experience. It looks like they’ve outsourced support to something called “liveperson.net”. While this conversation looks short, it actually took more than 8 minutes, and it looks like their support doesn’t speak English very well. I could overlook that, if they could answer my question.

Screen Shot 2012-12-28 at 12.34.10 PM

  1. #1 by Ethan Anderson on January 29, 2013 - 12:18 pm

    I can’t wait until Google Fiber gets to Omaha. I’m going to dump Cox SO HARD. The expense is going to hurt, but I want an IP6 address; if you’re not part of the solution you’re part of the problem.

  2. #2 by paulmacguyscott on April 20, 2014 - 12:31 am

    Any luck getting IPV6 from Cox? I am in Las Vegas and called today and couldn’t get a straight answer. The tech just tried to sell me consulting services to configure my router or said just plug my computer direct to the modem and IPV6 just works. Of course it doesn’t.

  3. #3 by tomperrine on April 20, 2014 - 9:49 am

    I actually did switch to Cox a few months ago. My DSL provider seemed to be getting out of the residential market (after being acquired by a company that was then acquired, etc.)

    I haven’t been able to get any new IPv6 answers from Cox, but I can tell you that my tunnelbroker.net IPv6 tunnel came back up with no issues.

    Cox and Time Warner are two of the larger US customers of A10 Networks, which makes Carrier Grade NAT (CGN) appliances,among other things. I guess we’ll just have to draw conclusions from that, whether warranted, or not.

    Comcast continues to roll out native dual-stack to more and more residential customers.

    • #4 by paulmacguyscott on April 20, 2014 - 12:29 pm

      I solved part of the problem early this morning. IPv6 config is automatic and mode is set to tunnel. Enter an ipv6 Google DNS and the system sorta works. I keep getting some errors but I got an ipv6 address and I could ping ipv6 addresses and goto ipv6 ip on Facebook.

      • #5 by tomperrine on April 20, 2014 - 6:59 pm

        Are you using tunnelbroker or one of the others?

      • #6 by paulmacguyscott on April 21, 2014 - 9:52 am

        No Tunnelbroker. It is running directly through Cox Internet Service. I am still having some issues with it but it seems to mostly work and passes most IPV6 tests.

  1. IPv6 – now from COX (San Diego)! | Thuktun (Message)

Leave a Reply

