WordPress.com – still no IPv6

Three years ago I wondered when wordpress.com would begin to support IPv6. The irony of hosting a blog that talks a lot about IPv6 on an IPv4-only platform is not lost on me 😦

Here we are in 2016 with Google, Akamai and pretty much all content providers are reporting more IPv6 traffic, and WordPress.com is still stuck in 1983.

This is not an OS issue, a load balancer issue, a PHP language issue, or even a WordPress software issue. I’ve seen WP software running full dual-stack, no problems. Five years ago. I’ve done it myself, I just don’t want to run WP myself anymore.

For whatever reason, WordPress.com has not decided to commit to the future. yet.

  1. #1 by wwwdrich on January 10, 2016 - 3:55 pm

    If it makes you feel better, my otherwise fantastic ISP has tod me they will probably never roll out native IPv6 to their DSL customers. Tunnels and 6rd are my only options.

    I think it is due to limitations in the AT&T equipment in between them and me, but it still sucks.

  2. #2 by tomperrine on January 11, 2016 - 10:32 am

    Yeah, there’s a LOT of legacy stuff in the AT&T POPs that are used by other ISPs and major companies. They only move the major (global or Fortune 500 as far as I can tell) customers that scream (or threaten to leave) to the new dual-stack-capable kit.

    I have been running a tunnel to tunnelbroker for home since Dec 2011. Just realized it has been up for just over 4 years

  3. #3 by jefe on February 19, 2016 - 2:14 pm

    Slightly OT (but saw it and immediately thought of tep…)

    https://www.zerotier.com/blog/?p=724

    …pretty much also my barrier to dealing with v6….RSI.

Leave a Reply

