Recovering a compromised WordPress site – Part 3 (AWS, Bitnami)

At this point we’ve got a good MySQL dump of the compromised WordPress site. Now what?

To the cloud!

As I alluded to in the earlier parts, I’m going to load the MySQL dump from the ancient (compromised) site, then re-dump it out as WXR (WordPress backup) so that I can import the whole thing into WordPress.com.

I’ve got the database dump, now I need a WordPress instance to load it into.

In the olden days, I would have grabbed some hardware, loaded Linux, then mySQL, then Apache, then WordPress. I only need this for a few hours, so why spend a half day doing the basic installation? It turns out there’s a great alternative.

Bitnami has a pre-configured LAMP+WordPress image available from the Amazon Marketplace. I can use their image for only US$0.13/hour on a c1.medium AWS instance. or US$0.02/hour on a t1.tiny instance. I figure I need at least two-three hours of run time, and I don’t want to run into any size/space limitations of the t1.tiny instance. So I’ll gamble and use the c1.medium. That means I might spend up to a little over US$0.50 (c1.medium) if I need 4 hours instead of only US$0.08 for 4 hours if I use the t1.tiny. I’ll take that gamble 🙂

1. Spin up a WordPress instance using the Bitnami image

This was pretty easy. Just start from the Bitnami pre-configured image in the Marketplace, and then proceed to the launch area. You’ll see that there’s a m1.small instance type already selected. This is where you can decide to use a c1.medium, or take the m1.small default. Just proceed and spin up the instance. Then proceed to the AWS Console to get the DNS hostname.

2. Configure WordPress on the instance

At the bottom of the AWS console you’ll see a section labelled “AWS Marketplace Usage Instructions”.  This will lead you to the username and the password (which will be in the instance’s boot log file). From there you can log into the WordPress instance over SSH with the username “bitnami” and your AWS private key.

3. Load and check the database

Log into the WordPress instance and use the control panel to load your MySQL dump into WordPress. Switch to the site view, and start scrolling through the blog posts and other links.

In my case, I found about a dozen posts that were still broken. This sent me back to the raw database edit (see Part 2) to re-edit the database text file dump. I edited out the broken records, re-dumped the database, and started again at step 1 above.

Once you have a valid WordPress site in your AWS instance, it’s time to get that WXR file we need for the import into WordPress.com.

4. Export the valid WordPress blog

Jump into the WordPress control panel, and use “Tools -> Export” to create a WXR file and download it to your computer. Once you’ve done this, you can spin down the AWS instance using the AWS console. Use “Terminate” so the EBS volume will be released as well.

We’re almost done. Next time, creating and loading the site into WordPress.com.

 

 

  1. Recovering a compromised WordPress site – Part 4 (import into wordpress.com) | Thuktun (Message)

Leave a Reply

